Need a hand

Frank
Posts: 159
Joined: Sun May 03, 2015 2:43 pm

Re: Need a hand

Post by Frank »

Sounds like an AK4619 issue then, post schematic and dump of all the register values.
sebotron
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2020 6:57 pm

Re: Need a hand

Post by sebotron »

Frank wrote: Wed Apr 27, 2022 1:31 pm Sounds like an AK4619 issue then, post schematic and dump of all the register values.
I'm happy to share my schematics, can I share a diptrace file or should I post a jpg?

As for my registers, here's what I told Phil in the other thread:

1) Pull up the PDN pin to put the codec in standby mode
2) Set the analog Input mode to single ended on AINL4 and AINR4 by setting the 0x0B register to 0x05 ( 0b00000101 ) as per page 43
3) Set the power management register, 0x00 to 0x13 ( 0b00010011 ) to turn on PMAD1 and PMDA1 as well as RSTN to put the codec in normal operation mode

As far as I know all other default values should be okay regarding clockspeeds and audio format and such so I haven't touched them.
Frank
Posts: 159
Joined: Sun May 03, 2015 2:43 pm

Re: Need a hand

Post by Frank »

Email me the diptrace files, we use it in house.

Will look at the register values but it sounds like they should be good.
Frank
Posts: 159
Joined: Sun May 03, 2015 2:43 pm

Re: Need a hand

Post by Frank »

sebotron wrote: Wed Apr 27, 2022 2:58 pm 2) Set the analog Input mode to single ended on AINL4 and AINR4 by setting the 0x0B register to 0x05 ( 0b00000101 ) as per page 43
OK makes sense
sebotron wrote: Wed Apr 27, 2022 2:58 pm 3) Set the power management register, 0x00 to 0x13 ( 0b00010011 ) to turn on PMAD1 and PMDA1 as well as RSTN to put the codec in normal operation mode
If you are using AINL/R4 shouldn't you turn on PMAD/PMDA2? So 0x25 to reg 0x0?
sebotron
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2020 6:57 pm

Re: Need a hand

Post by sebotron »

Frank wrote: Wed Apr 27, 2022 4:40 pm If you are using AINL/R4 shouldn't you turn on PMAD/PMDA2? So 0x25 to reg 0x0?
Ya, you and Phil in the other thread made me realize what is probably my one huge mistake. I need to learn to read datasheets. I connected SDOUT1 to the FXC SDI0 and SDOUT2 to VSS but, as you mentioned, AIN4L/R is connected to ADC2, which is routed to SDOUT2 so right now it's floating. I'll fix that and report back. Thanks Frank!
PhilHaw
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2019 5:37 pm

Re: Need a hand

Post by PhilHaw »

sebotron wrote: Wed Apr 27, 2022 11:12 pm
Frank wrote: Wed Apr 27, 2022 4:40 pm If you are using AINL/R4 shouldn't you turn on PMAD/PMDA2? So 0x25 to reg 0x0?
Ya, you and Phil in the other thread made me realize what is probably my one huge mistake. I need to learn to read datasheets. I connected SDOUT1 to the FXC SDI0 and SDOUT2 to VSS but, as you mentioned, AIN4L/R is connected to ADC2, which is routed to SDOUT2 so right now it's floating. I'll fix that and report back. Thanks Frank!
Unused SDOUT pins should be left OPEN not connected to VSS! Unused SDIN should be connected to VSS2. See page 8 of the AK4619 datasheet.

Phil.
Philip Hawthorne

Blue Nebula Development Team
sebotron
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2020 6:57 pm

Re: Need a hand

Post by sebotron »

PhilHaw wrote: Thu Apr 28, 2022 6:44 am
sebotron wrote: Wed Apr 27, 2022 11:12 pm
Frank wrote: Wed Apr 27, 2022 4:40 pm If you are using AINL/R4 shouldn't you turn on PMAD/PMDA2? So 0x25 to reg 0x0?
Ya, you and Phil in the other thread made me realize what is probably my one huge mistake. I need to learn to read datasheets. I connected SDOUT1 to the FXC SDI0 and SDOUT2 to VSS but, as you mentioned, AIN4L/R is connected to ADC2, which is routed to SDOUT2 so right now it's floating. I'll fix that and report back. Thanks Frank!
Unused SDOUT pins should be left OPEN not connected to VSS! Unused SDIN should be connected to VSS2. See page 8 of the AK4619 datasheet.

Phil.
Ya, I meant to say it was floating, not VSS. I can't brain sometimes.
sebotron
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2020 6:57 pm

Re: Need a hand

Post by sebotron »

Hi guys! Quick update - I finally got the new boards after moving inputs to ADC1.

Good news is I can get a passthrough program to work on the FXC. Bad news is that running anything else results in whitenoise/static for some reason.

Passthru:

Code: Select all

cpy_cs   r0, in0
cpy_sc   out0, r0
cpy_cs   r0, in1
cpy_sc   out1, r0
I'll keep looking and report back but in the meantime if anybody has an idea... :)
PhilHaw
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2019 5:37 pm

Re: Need a hand

Post by PhilHaw »

sebotron wrote: Tue May 17, 2022 10:22 am Hi guys! Quick update - I finally got the new boards after moving inputs to ADC1.

Good news is I can get a passthrough program to work on the FXC. Bad news is that running anything else results in whitenoise/static for some reason.

Passthru:

Code: Select all

cpy_cs   r0, in0
cpy_sc   out0, r0
cpy_cs   r0, in1
cpy_sc   out1, r0
I'll keep looking and report back but in the meantime if anybody has an idea... :)
I'm grasping at straws here but is your clock speed on the FXCore set to the same value as in the code?

Phil.
Philip Hawthorne

Blue Nebula Development Team
Frank
Posts: 159
Joined: Sun May 03, 2015 2:43 pm

Re: Need a hand

Post by Frank »

sebotron wrote: Tue May 17, 2022 10:22 am Good news is I can get a passthrough program to work on the FXC. Bad news is that running anything else results in whitenoise/static for some reason.
I suggest posting a short failing program that should work so we can see if there is something in the code.
Post Reply